What do we mean when we say that Our Town Belfast is “a Main Street Community?”

The Maine Downtown Center’s core program is Main Street, which is a proven Four-Point Approach® to downtown revitalization developed by the National Trust for Historic Preservation in 1980 and is currently used in 44 states in over 2,200 communities. Currently, ten communities have achieved and maintained Main Street Maine designation: Bath, Belfast, Biddeford, Brunswick, Gardiner, Rockland, Saco, Sanford, Skowhegan, and Westbrook.

Introducing the Main Street Program

Main Street Maine